Free Assesment Form

Australia Immigration Glossary

If you are applying a visa in Australia, you are bound to come across many abbreviations or difficult terms, which you are not aware of. To make your Australia immigration process easy and smooth, we are providing here the meaning and explanation of all difficult terms and abbreviations you may come across during your Australia immigration process.

1. DHA (Department of Home Affairs), Australia

The DHA is the department of Australian government that takes care of the Immigration and home affairs related matters in the country. The DHA takes care of all key immigration related procedures in Australia, i.e. release of Skill Occupation list, opening of periodic invitation rounds, issuing guidelines/instructions/rule changes, etc. for the key visa subclass of Australia, etc.

2. GSM (General Skilled Migration)

The General Skilled Migration (GSM) is a point based immigration program designed by the Australian government to invite, assess and select the skilled and talented people from overseas to allocate them skilled visa. GSM has three main visa categories, i.e. Subclass 189, 190 and 489 visa. Though, 489 visa will be replaced by Subclass 491 visa with effect from November 16, 2019.

3. SkillSelect System

Itā€™s an online system designed to accept and register the EOIs (Expression of Interests) received from the overseas skilled workers under General Skilled Migration Program. All registered EOIs in the SkillSelect are assessed and accordingly given a point score. The points are allocated based on age, education, work experience, English proficiency, etc. factors.

You may calculate your points on the Australia Immigration Points Calculator. The minimum points you need to score are 65 points to be eligible.

4. ITA (Invitation to Apply)

The DHA issue the Invitation to Apply (ITA)to those candidates, who are selected in the online SkillSelect system based on their immigration point score.

5. STSOL (Short Term Skilled Occupational Demand list)

The STSOLĀ stands for Short Term Skilled Occupational Demand list. The STSOL includes the occupations, which are high in demand in Australia. If you want to apply for sponsored Permanent Residency (Subclass 190) of Australia, your occupation must lie in the relevant STSOL list and you needs to have an invitation/sponsorship from the state or territory government in Australia.This list was earlier known as Skilled Occupational List (CSOL).

6.MLTSSL (Medium and Long Term Strategic Skill List)

The MLTSSL stands for Medium and Long Term Strategic Skill List. It is the high demand occupation list, in which occupations are listed for Australiaā€™s permanent and temporary skilled visa programs, i.e. Subclass 189 and 489 visa. It was earlier known as Consolidated Skilled Occupational Skilled List (SOL).

7. ROL (Regional Occupation List)

The Regional Occupation List is meant for highly skilled overseas workers employed in designated regional areas and function alongsideĀ theĀ presentĀ STSOLĀ andĀ MLTSSL. It provides for a four-year visa with a permanent residency pathway, i.e. Subclass 489.

8. Combined List of Eligible Skilled Occupations Australia

TheĀ Combined List of Eligible Skilled Occupationsis a list of high demand occupations in Australia. This list invites Expression of Interests (EOIs) from the overseas skilled workers looking for short term & long term skilled jobs in Australia.

The visa programs that use this particular list also have an access to some occupations in the Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL). Hence, no separate STSOL list has been designed by DIBP; rather a combined list has been made including the eligible occupations in both STSOL and MLTSSL lists, i.e.Ā combined list of eligible skilled occupations.Ā 

9. EOI (Expression of Interest)

The aspirants of Australian visa submit their EOI (Expression of Interest) in the online SkillSeleect system. The EOI includes the key details of the profile of the applicant, i.e. age, education, work experience, language ability, etc.

10. TSS (Temporary Skill Shortage) Visa

The TSS or Temporary Skill Shortage visa (subclass 482) or is a work visa which allows Australian employers to sponsor a skilled worker from overseas to work in their business in Australia. This visa was introduced on 19 March 2019 to replace the Temporary Work visa Subclass 457 which was eradicated by DHA. There are three streams under TSS visa program:

  • The Short-Term stream
  • The Medium-Term stream
  • The Labour Agreement stream

11. Australia Immigration point System

Australia has designed the point based immigration system to allocate the skilled Permanent and temporary visas to the overseas skilled workers, willing to apply visa in Australia. The visa categories under GSM program, i.e. Subclass 189, 190 and 489 are point tested visas, which are based on this point system.

An applicant needs to obtain minimum 65 points to become eligible to apply skilled visa under GSM Program.

12. MARA (Migration Agents Registration Authority)

The MARA or Migration Agents Registration Authority is an Australian Government authority that registers migration agents and regulates the Migration Agents offering, advice, assistance and support to the Australia immigration and visa aspirants.

If you are applying for immigration to Australia, you must hire a MARA accredited Visa Consultancy or Consultant.

13. IELTS (International English Language Testing System)

The IELTS (International English Language Testing System) is worldwide popular test of English Language proficiency needed for higher education and overseas immigration. It is approved and accepted by Australian government as well for Australia immigration and visa allocation purpose. In fact,Ā IELTS test result obtained by an applicant is the part of Australiaā€™s Point based immigration system.

If you need further clarification about any of the above Australia immigration terms or need guidance and support to apply Permanent Residence (PR) visa in Australia, you may fill the free assessment form so that our Australia Migration expert can call you back with the answer of your questions.

You may also speak to our Canada Immigration expert on Toll Free Number- 78-18-000-777.


Free Assessment Visa Assessment Form

    Please fill in the fields below .

  • SEND